Thoughts of a Sun-Drenched Elsewhere

“Now more than ever do I realize that I shall never be content with a sedentary life, and that I shall always be haunted by thoughts of a sun-drenched elsewhere.” – Isabelle Eberhardt

Today in New York feels like the first real sign of spring.  Just a gorgeous, breezy, sunny day topped with perfect blue skies and temperatures that lift your spirits immediately.  I’ve weathered a winter back in the U.S., and it didn’t even make me as miserable as I thought it would. I’ve been focused on “starting a career” so I’ve thus far been able to hold my wanderlust at bay.  And since New York City is one of the greatest cities in the world, it makes it kind of easy to like living here.

But inevitably, because I have a serious, incurable case of the travel bug, thoughts of a sun-drenched elsewhere have recently started to creep into my consciousness again.  Really, it doesn’t even have to be sun-drenched.  A culturally-new elsewhere, or a snow-capped-peaked elsewhere, or a spiritually enlightening elsewhere. I want to be off galavanting and exploring–again. I’ve started to plot my next adventure, looking up flights to various places around the world I haven’t been, and starting to imagine–with affection–packing a backpack and wandering the streets of an unfamiliar place, watching the countryside ramble on from a bus window, or planting myself on a nice plot of sand and letting the sun and the surroundings work its soothing magic.  (Just to whet your appetite: Flights to Jamaica are only $292 round-trip from New York!  Holla. I like reggae, and palm-fringed beaches, and hearing stories from wizened old fisherman while sipping rum cocktails…)

It’s official. Taking a two-year hiatus from the grind of post-college American life still hasn’t quite quieted my insatiable desire to travel. “I shall never be content with a sedentary life.” Well said, Isabelle Eberhardt.

Anyway, because if it’s on my mind, I might as well share it with you all. Here are a few pictures of some of the sun-drenched elsewheres I’ve been to in my day. Where have you been that you will always remember fondly? Where would you go if you could go anywhere?

Langkawi, Malaysia
Langkawi, Malaysia
More of Langkawi, Malaysia
Morro de Sao Paulo, Brazil
Itacare, Brazil
One thought on “Thoughts of a Sun-Drenched Elsewhere

Leave a Reply

