On to the Next One… Bring on the Cidade Maravilhosa!

You know the drill... Christ the Redeemer statue in Rio... and a little double chin action just to show my mom that there is food in South America and I'm not starving.

This may not come as much of a shock to many of you, especially if you’ve talked to me or read any of my previous blog posts since returning from Brazil.  But… drum roll please… I’m moving to Rio! My ticket is booked. My bags are faaar from packed. And I gotta get on the grind to find a job once I’m there.  But I’m actually doing it, and it’s time to get excited!

If you’re asking yourself Damn. How does she have the luxury of being able to move wherever the f she wants? The truth is, I don’t reeaaally, but I’m following my gut because I didn’t move down to South America to sit around and not enjoy myself.  (Actually, the answer to that question should really be: You can too!)  I’d always wanted to live in Brazil anyway.  But the fact that I already spoke Spanish, and that I could probably live fairly comfortably given the cushy US dollar-to-Argentine peso exchange rate, were reason enough to give Buenos Aires the edge over Rio.  But the last week and a half since I’ve been back to Buenos Aires have been a challenge, to say the least.  Onda, meaning vibe, is a word the Argentines use a lot, and I’ve been getting a lot of mala onda from Buenos Aires.  I’m not one to always make the most rational decisions (rational decisions are just so blasé)… but several things in my life recently have made me feel like this is the right thing to do.  So, taking a cue from the sage Puff Daddy (“Can’t nobody hold me down… oh no… I got to keep on moving”), it’s time to make like a tree and leave.  We will see how I feel about this decision when I realize Brazil has robbed me dry (let’s hope not literally… I was thinking more of the lofty prices for everything there).  But wish me luck, sanity, and as many days as I can eek out of my visa as I can, as I try to pick up my life from here and move it to the Cidade Maravilhosa, the “Marvelous City!”

Another view of Christ the Redeemer: Sunset over Rio de Janeiro
4 thoughts on “On to the Next One… Bring on the Cidade Maravilhosa!

  1. Wow, congrats on taking the plunge! I’d love to live in Salvador, maybe I just need to buy the ticket on a whim and make it up as I go along 😉 I don’t think many really do have the luxury to move about, it just depends on how attached you are to the idea of doing what you “should” do and how much you value “stuff”. Best of luck settling in and I know I am going to be super jealous reading blog dispatches from Rio. Love the sunset picture, by the way.

  2. What a huge commitment you’re making. You’ll have such a full life doing things that YOU want. Gain the experience and memories now. The farthest I went to live was Hawaii. I thought that was quite a change back then.
    I’ll continue to follow you on your blog.
    Good luck and be safe.

Leave a Reply

