Photo Op: Colonia, Uruguay

I have to be better about posting pictures.  I suck. I think only a handful of people have ever seen any pictures from my travels around China, Southeast Asia, or now, South America–and that is a generous estimate.  A handful might be closer to… two.  Including myself.  SOOO… I’m gonna start quick posts that will feature photos, because as they say, a picture is worth a thousand words, and since I’m wordy, it might be more like 10,000 words for me.  Though a more serious blogger might have started something like a Photo Friday (get it? alliteration?), I’m gonna keep it real and just start a Photo Op series… because since moving to South America, Friday schedules have been unpredictable at best.  So here we go!

Three months ago, I never would have thought I’d ever go to Uruguay (it’s like the Uranus of the planets… kind of lame and off the radar…), but then I decided to move to Buenos Aires, and as it turns out Uruguay is just a quick hop over the Rio de la Plata.  (Fun fact: Uruguay is South America’s smallest Spanish-speaking country–this is where I remind you that Guyana, Suriname, and Guyane [French Guiana] are also South American countries, but Spanish isn’t their primary language.)

So our first stop in Uruguay was the small city of Colonia del Sacramento, the oldest town in Uruguay.  The main “downtown” area lining the river consists of a collection of colorful colonial buildings on cobblestone streets (whoa… how’s that for alliteration?).  This historic area is also a UNESCO World Heritage Site, for those of you who find those designations of interest.  For some reason, the city’s residents have a penchant for old cars (a la Havana, Cuba) and planting bougainvillea to properly drape over those colonial walls, which makes the town just that much cuter.  We only spent a few hours wandering around Colonia, and that’s really all you need to see the various sites, including a small lighthouse, a drawbridge, and a church.  It’s a nice place to catch a meal by the water and relax away an afternoon.  Here are a few pics to give you an idea of what it looked like:

3 thoughts on “Photo Op: Colonia, Uruguay

  1. Hi: Did you get to try the beef in Uruguay? Read that the beef there is suppose to have the most naturally grown cows. No antibiotics fed to the cows. Love your descriptions. We’re traveling thru your words. (Yes, I’m Dan’s Mom:-)

    And I’m trying to get my blog going too.
    smoothskinbydiane.blogspot.com

    1. Hi Dan’s Mom!! Thanks so much for following my blog–your compliment means so much to me! As for the meat, I didn’t get a chance to try it (I was excited to eat fish because there’s a serious lack of it here in Argentina!).

Leave a Reply

