Brio: Learn It, Love It, Live It

Urban legend has it that I once proclaimed (I hope at the time I was slightly under the influence) that I pride myself in my “pretty extensive vocabulary.”  And, as it turns out, I kind of do.  (Ha.)  But for those of you who thought that this post was going to be about my new-found love for brie cheese, and that I had made a typo, I’m sorry to disappoint.  It is in fact about one of my favorite words in the English language: brio.

Brio (noun): vigor, vivacity; word origins: energy, determination, liveliness, strength, power, force (from Spanish, Italian, and Celtic)

How great a word is that?  A four-letter word no less.  Such a small, simple, but powerful word that encompasses so many good things–basically my life philosophy.

So, in the spirit of a new decade, and as this is my first post of the new year, I’ve decided that as a non-resolution (because I don’t do new year’s resolutions), I must live with more brio.  But [and this is me thinking as I type] that makes me seem like I don’t live with brio at all.  Goddammit I quit my job (that I didn’t quite like very much), moved to Buenos Aires, and found a gig doing something I much prefer.  I’m making things happen.  Okay, so I must continually live with brio.  Daily even.

I thought of this as I was starting to watch the movie Julie & Julia, and despite the sort of weird clenching in my jaw that happened when I had to watch the scenes with Amy Adams…, I did admire her character’s gumption and her initiative to take what was a pretty god-awful situation and do something about it–namely, blog.  AND, who knew Julia Child was so adorably plucky and strong-willed?  That is my kind of woman.  (If you’ve never seen the movie or don’t know the story, sorry, google it. Or click on the link I just took two minutes–yes, that IS how slow my internet is–to put in.)

Anyway, how this relates to me: I’ve started to let this blog drag–telling myself I will write posts that never actually get to print (er… slash publish to the web), not recounting some of the really awesome stuff that I am actually doing in my day-to-day life, or writing about a lot of the wonderful and life-changing experiences I’ve had with travel over the past several years.  I’m not going to set myself any strict schedules, because I can tell you right now, those WILL get broken (and because again, I don’t do new year’s resolutions).  But I’d like to say it’s because of steak and wine, rather than laziness.  For those of you who’ve recently found my blog and given me comments/compliments, thank you!  I love to hear from people who are in similar situations or have similar interests, so please drop a line!

So.  Let’s just say, more writing, and more brio to come.  Have I turned you on to the word brio yet?

3 thoughts on “Brio: Learn It, Love It, Live It

  1. Brio… I like it! I know what you mean about the Amy Adams scenes in Julia and Julia, but definitely a good movie to watch as a blogger! What are you up to in Argentina? I have trouble writing about travels in the moment because I want to be in the moment. I’m more into reflecting and reliving later. Of course it might be different for long term trips though…

Leave a Reply

