Comfort Food on the Road

It’s high time for another post about food.  And I am pleased to announce that this post is about one of the best types of food ever: mashed potatoes (yes, I already referenced my deep love for them in the post about expat Thanksgiving).  But how much do you want to eat this right now:

stop it. heaven in a bowl. nice toast you got there tommy... sucka!

Maybe it’s just me that’s obsessed with mashed potatoes and melty cheese. In which case, I’m sorry for the rest of you.  Anyway, this was a pic taken at a little open-air street-side restaurant called Artisan’s Pizza on the island of Langkawi in Malaysia.  Even though it was across the street from our guesthouse–staring us in the face every time we left–we hesitated to eat there the first couple days we were in Langkawi.  We had tried a few different places on the popular strip of restaurants along Pantai Cenang beach, but didn’t have much luck finding any good food.  Finally, we relented and decided to try Artisan’s (besides, Tommy has rarely gone three days without eating pizza… kidding! Or am I?), and it ended up being one of our favorite places to eat.

You might be thinking to yourself–and rightly so–why would you eat pizza and mashed potatoes when you’re on an exotic island in Southeast Asia? 

And to that I answer: because.  Because sometimes when you’re on the road, you just need a break from being adventurous and trying foods that taste like fish paste (in a bad way), or you’ve just had curry too many times in a 48-hour span, or you just want to satisfy a craving.  And that’s totally okay.  I think comfort food on the road is a necessary thing, especially when you’re constantly pushing yourself to see and do new stuff, and you’re faced with the hassle of finding a new place to sleep every few nights.  I, for one, want to enjoy what I eat as often as I can when I travel, and if it means that occasionally I’d rather eat chicken fingers than blood sausage, I won’t beat myself up about it.

Just be sure to try new foods.  Make sure you’re not missing out on some of the traditional things locals eat, because, let’s be real, it’s usually far superior to any greasy, fried, cheesy, American-y type food you could get anyway.  But if a late-night calling for oven-baked mashed potatoes with cheese broiled to a crisp on top hits you (and it did–and thankfully Artisan’s is open at all hours of the night), definitely give in.

2 thoughts on “Comfort Food on the Road

    1. I know. I’ve come a long, long way. But there are still many cheeses on my “no go” list. Mozzarella is, unfortunately for my health, not one of them.

Leave a Reply

