A Very Merry Expat Thanksgiving

Salud! A Thanksgiving dinner under the stars on the wonderfully spacious terrace I have at my current apartment.

As someone who is unabashedly obsessed with food, Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays. But not just for the food (which happens to include one of the greatest foods ever invented–mashed potatoes!), but because the holiday celebrates gathering with family and friends and being thankful–and all the better with a belly full of great food and drinks.

So imagine my surprise when I realized that many of my American friends down here didn’t have any plans for Thanksgiving!  As a last-minute decision, I decided to host my first ever Thanksgiving dinner, and I’m happy to report that I not only pulled it off–it was a success!  And with people I’ve only known for a week or two, and in Buenos Aires (with ovens where you can’t control the temperature, and stores that don’t carry anything remotely close to turkey, cranberries, gravy, or cornbread).  But we did have roast chicken (a pretty good substitute if you ask me), mashed potatoes, stuffing, green beans, sweet potato casserole, salad, deviled eggs, bread and cheese, homemade pecan pie (very impressive given that brown sugar and pecans are nearly non-existent here), and lots and lots of wine.  Luckily I didn’t have to prepare all the food for all 18 people who came–this was definitely a potluck affair.  But how do people pull off Thanksgiving dinners when it’s not a potluck?!  Good god. Hats off to our mothers and grandmothers and aunts.

the sweet potato casserole in the foreground was bomb. dot com.

And don’t worry, I made everyone go around and say what they were thankful for–a proper initiation for the Dutch, French, British, and Argentine friends who were Thanksgiving first-timers.  I may or may not have said I’m glad I had the “cajones” to move to Buenos Aires–hey, I had to try to use Spanish somewhere in there.  Other people offered up some other non-traditional toasts: one of the Brits was very thankful for wool socks… (of course…), a friend gave it up for the free and very awesome Skype, and another was happy she was going to get the chance to go to Machu Picchu before she went back home.  So here’s to many more gatherings with my new friends!

Hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

4 thoughts on “A Very Merry Expat Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

