Pardon Me… Would You Have Any Grey Poupon?

at least the horses were cool...

I kept thinking of the old (and hilariously ridiculous) Grey Poupon commercials when I went to a polo match the other weekend.  Never have a I seen such a large group of people who looked like they all stepped off the set from shooting a Ralph Lauren ad–and this coming from a girl who went to Georgetown.  I had to wait outside the polo field for a while, waiting for my friends to get there, and nine out of every ten people who walked into the venue were a) beautiful, b) well-dressed, and c) looked like they probably had servants, or at least very nice cars.  Anyway, it was an interesting event.  Unbeknownst to me before I went to the match, the best polo players in the world, and thus the best teams, are Argentine.  In the words of two American guys I met who actually play polo (professionally! WHAT?!), the Brits and the Aussies only try to keep up with the Argentines.  I’d say polo is a totally boring sport, but perhaps that’s because I know nothing about the rules, so I’ll just leave it at this: I probably won’t go to another one any time soon, at least not without some adult beverages to accompany me.  It’s a much more slow-moving game than I expected, especially given that it’s played on horses.  But it was fun seeing how many people showed up for the event, and it’s also interesting that it’s kind of a big deal here.  Another Argentine cultural event down.

We fit in pretty well, what with the large floppy sunhat, and the Asian girl....
One thought on “Pardon Me… Would You Have Any Grey Poupon?

Leave a Reply

