Those Everyday Low Prices

walmart
these people made off like bandits

So I went to Wal-Mart today to pick up some toiletries for my move, and my mind was blown. Technically it was a Super Wal-Mart, and perhaps more impressive than a run-of-the-mill regular Wal-Mart, but this place was like… a village unto itself.  Inside the one store was: a bank, a “money center” (not exactly sure how that differs from the bank, but I people were using both), a nail salon, a hair salon, a vision center for eye exams and glasses/contacts, a grocery store, AND a McDonald’s (apparently other Supercenters have portrait studios, family fun centers, Subways, etc.)–this on top of the sundry items Wal-Mart sells, i.e. everything and anything you could ever want (including, as of today, discount coffins and urns on their website).  Wal-Mart is like the Google of retail stores–they want to make it so that you never have to leave the premises again.  Which scares me.  Because I found myself being lured by its rolled back prices (if you didn’t think you could get any cheaper than Target, you were wrong).  I’m not gonna lie, I eyed a few pieces of the Miley Cyrus and Max Azria-inspired clothing collection (am I proud of it? no)–though passed on them, thankfully–and even bought Halloween decorations that I didn’t intend to buy at all.  And there was such a huge selection of produce, fresh-baked breads and pastries, and other foods, that I could see myself doing my grocery shopping at a Wal-Mart if I were a suburban mom feeding a family of four.  But that’s exactly what they want me to think!  AH. Damn the man for predicting my consumer patterns so well.  And damn my soul for patronizing an ethically irresponsible hyper-corporation.  But I’m jus’ sayin…

(photo via flickr)

2 thoughts on “Those Everyday Low Prices

  1. It’s funny that you mention Google in there as Wal Mart and Google are basically the best run American companies that we have; as for irresponsible please see how much Wal Mart did for the residents of New Orleans in the wake of Katrina. Just saying . . .

    1. while it’s true that wal-mart did do a bang-up job of providing aid after katrina, let’s not mince words and own up to the fact that the real reason you like wal-mart is b/c you bought your prized miley cyrus towel there.

Leave a Reply

