I Don’t Want to Grow Up

Unless you’ve been living in a cave for the past couple weeks, you’ve probably read or heard about the hype surrounding Spike Jonze’s latest film, an adaptation of the children’s book Where the Wild Things Are.  Unfortunately the movie comes out October 16, at which time I’ll be in Malaysia.  But for all my friends who plan to go see it as soon as it hits theaters, let me know how it is!  I’m one part weirded out by the enormous stuffed-animal-like monsters, and several parts intrigued by how beautiful and surreal the film already looks from just the trailer.  Great cinematography always gets me right heah (think of those A1 commercials from the 90s when they say that in a Boston accent while pointing to their throats). Besides, I like wild things.

The soundtrack for the movie, by Karen O (yay for Karens!) of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs (along with several other collaborators), also came out today and it pretty much hits it on the nail home (see comments for why this is crossed out–and why I am clearly ESL).  The album perfectly expresses the magical childlike quality of the movie in musical form–complete with rambling tracks that don’t consist of any real lyrics, just Karen O’s lilting voice humming along, like a kid’s wandering mind.  Listen to the soundtrack here.  Makes me want to be a kid again.

(P.S. Feel free to tell me I’m too caught up in the hype.  Are you excited for the movie, and do you like the soundtrack?)

3 thoughts on “I Don’t Want to Grow Up

  1. Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂

    – Marc Shaw

Leave a Reply

