Best Soothe-Your-Soul Noodle Soup

you're missing out big time if you've never had this.
you're missing out big time if you've never had this.

I Heart Thee, D.C.

2. Pho 75
If you’ve spent any significant amount of time with me, you’ve probably heard me rave–and I do mean rave–about this place.   In my opinion, it serves up the best bowl of noodle soup in the DC area.   Pho is the perfect hangover food, perfect lunch food, perfect soothe-your-soul food.  I bet it’d even make a perfect midnight snack (although I can’t actually say that with authority, since this restaurant isn’t open 24 hours, though it should be).  Unfortunately, I am moving to Argentina, where I’m pretty sure they eat steak and wine for breakfast, as well as lunch and dinner.  Asian noodle soup will probably be very hard to find.  Sad.

Anyway, I reviewed Pho 75 as part of my Best Cheap Eats in Washington, D.C. post on my work blog.  Here’s what I had to say:

If you’re in the mood for something exotic or less gut-busting, or just an elixir to melt some stress away, head to Pho 75 and dig into a large steaming bowl of Vietnamese noodle soup.  Its fragrant concoction of beef broth flavored with lemongrass, coriander, and star anise will be sure to heal what ails you. Although this restaurant looks like a stark middle school cafeteria hung with a few vaguely Asian decorations, they focus not on the decor, but on getting you in, out, and deeply satisfied.

(photo via androog)

One thought on “Best Soothe-Your-Soul Noodle Soup

Leave a Reply

